Some links on this page are affiliate links - if you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick answer

For most garden string-light layouts, start with Govee Outdoor Solar String Lights H3001. Govee lists up to 50 lm per bulb at full brightness, up to 13 hours at 10 lm, a 6 W solar panel, and IP67. The panel needs direct sun, and the 13-hour figure is a low-brightness claim rather than a full-output promise.

The rest of the shortlist covers different jobs. Hoselink has a 26-ft, 25-bulb warm white string with a documented 8 to 12 hour range. BioLite reaches 44 ft and supports USB-C charging. Brightech gives you classic S14 or filament formats, but the reviewed pages do not state lumens or runtime. She Gardens did not test these lights. Confirm the exact listing, stock, pack, and outdoor instructions before buying.

Rank Product Best fit Main drawback
1 Govee Outdoor Solar String Lights H3001 Output and smart-style control 13 h is at 10 lm
2 Feit Electric SL20-10/SOL/V1 20 ft Solar String Lights Short 20-ft installation Up to 6 h runtime
3 Hoselink Warm White Solar Party Bulb String Lights USL460 Warm white bulb line Battery is not replaceable
4 Brightech Ambience Pro Solar Non-Hanging 27 ft S14 bulbs on a fixed run Lumens and runtime are undisclosed
5 Brightech Glow Solar String Lights Filament-style decoration Lumens and runtime are undisclosed
6 Brightech Ambience Pro Solar Hanging 27 ft Hanging S14 bulbs Specification disclosure is limited
7 BioLite Solar String Lights 44 ft Color Long colorful run and USB-C IPX4 is lower than several picks

The seven garden string-light picks

1. Govee H3001

Govee H3001 outdoor solar string lights product image

The Govee H3001 has the clearest output and runtime comparison in this group. Govee lists up to 50 lm per bulb at full brightness and up to 13 hours at 10 lm. Use the 13-hour figure to understand the low-brightness condition, not to predict full-brightness runtime.

The set uses a 6 W solar panel with an ETFE surface, and Govee says the panel needs direct sun. The record lists IP67 and a panel temperature range of -4 F to 104 F. Battery chemistry and capacity are not disclosed.

Check the Govee H3001

Pros: Highest documented per-bulb output, clear conditional runtime, and a 6 W panel. Cons: Direct sun is required, and the longest runtime uses 10 lm brightness.

2. Feit Electric SL20-10/SOL/V1

Feit Electric SL20-10 solar string lights product image

The Feit SL20-10/SOL/V1 fits a short fence, balcony edge, or garden corner. Feit lists a 20-ft string, up to 6 hours of runtime, and a timer that activates the lights for 6 hours after dusk. The dedicated panel can use a stake or wall mount, and Feit recommends at least 6 hours of direct sun.

The set has two embedded 18650 lithium-ion rechargeable batteries and shatter-resistant bulbs. Feit records UL Wet Location approval but no IP code or lumen figure. Shade can reduce charge and working hours.

Check the Feit SL20 solar string lights

Pros: Short length, clear panel guidance, and two embedded rechargeable batteries. Cons: No lumen rating and a shorter stated runtime.

Hoselink USL460 warm white solar bulb string lights product image

The Hoselink USL460 is a warm white festoon-style string with 25 bulbs across 26 ft. Hoselink lists 240 lm total and 8 to 12 hours depending on light mode. Its 5 V / 3 W solar panel needs direct sun, and the battery is a 3.7 V / 2,200 mAh non-replaceable lithium-ion unit.

IP65 is the documented ingress rating. The clear length and bulb count make USL460 easier to match to a fence or seating area than products with fewer disclosed details. The tradeoff is long-term battery service. The battery is not replaceable according to the locked record.

Check the Hoselink USL460

Pros: 26-ft length, 25 bulbs, 240 lm total, and a stated runtime range. Cons: The battery cannot be replaced.

4. Brightech Ambience Pro Solar Non-Hanging

Brightech Ambience Pro Solar 27 foot string lights product image

The Brightech Ambience Pro Solar Non-Hanging uses a 27-ft string with 12 S14 1 W LED bulbs. Its 1 W solar panel has a dusk photocell, and the product record lists IP65 for the Brightech solar string-light collection. The non-hanging format suits a fixed run along a fence or railing.

The reviewed page does not disclose lumens, runtime, battery chemistry, or capacity. The S14 format may fit when bulb shape and 27-ft length drive the decision.

Check the Brightech Ambience Pro Solar

Pros: 27-ft length, 12 S14 bulbs, dusk photocell, and IP65 collection rating. Cons: Lumens and runtime are not stated.

5. Brightech Glow Solar String Lights

Brightech Glow Solar String Lights product image

The Brightech Glow uses a 28-ft string with 12 integrated LED filament bulbs. The solar panel is rated at 1.5 W. Brightech’s solar string collection has an IP65 rating in the locked record, and the brand uses all-weather wording on the reviewed product material.

Lumens and runtime are not disclosed. Compare Glow by length, bulb style, and panel rating, not against a brightness number the source does not give.

Check the Brightech Glow

Pros: 28-ft run, integrated filament bulbs, and a 1.5 W panel. Cons: No lumen or runtime disclosure.

6. Brightech Ambience Pro Solar Hanging

Brightech Ambience Pro Solar hanging string lights product image

The Brightech Ambience Pro Solar Hanging is another 27-ft S14 string, this time in a hanging format. The product record lists a 1 W solar panel with a photocell and the Brightech collection’s IP65 rating. It suits a pergola or overhead garden structure where the bulbs need a hanging run instead of a line along a rail.

The source does not disclose lumens, runtime, battery chemistry, or capacity. Brightech’s all-weather wording is not a temperature or submersion claim.

Check the Brightech hanging Ambience Pro Solar

Pros: 27-ft hanging layout, S14 bulbs, and a panel with photocell. Cons: Specification disclosure is limited.

7. BioLite Solar String Lights 44 ft Color

BioLite 44 foot color solar string lights product image

The BioLite Solar String Lights 44 ft Color gives you the longest run in this list. BioLite lists a 44-ft braided cord with 20 shatterproof bulbs, a high-efficiency monocrystalline panel, USB-C recharge, and a 4,000 mAh / 14.8 Wh lithium-ion battery. Runtime is stated as 7 to 25 hours depending on use.

The product record lists IPX4. That is lower than the IP65 and IP67 ratings on several other strings, and no outdoor temperature range is stated. Choose BioLite when length, color, and backup charging matter more than a higher documented ingress code.

Check the BioLite 44-ft color string lights

Pros: Longest string, documented battery capacity, and USB-C recharge. Cons: IPX4 is the lowest documented ingress rating among these strings.

How to place a solar string light

Measure the route before choosing the bulb format. A 20-ft string fits a short fence section, while a 44-ft run needs more support points and a panel location. The garden hose guide for large gardens covers a different outdoor layout, but mapping distance helps with both. For a tighter setup, see the small-space hose guide.

The panel location controls the solar part of the system. Govee and Hoselink require direct sun in their records. Feit recommends at least 6 hours of direct sun, and its source says shade can reduce charge and working hours. The bulbs can hang in a pleasant shaded spot while the panel sits in a brighter location, if the cable and mounting instructions allow it.

Compare runtime with its setting attached. Govee’s up-to-13-hour claim is at 10 lm, Hoselink gives 8 to 12 hours depending on mode, Feit states up to 6 hours, and BioLite gives 7 to 25 hours depending on use. Brightech does not disclose runtime.

Weather records vary too. IP65, IP67, UL Wet Location approval, and IPX4 are not interchangeable. Use the exact code or approval and follow current instructions.

Frequently asked questions

Which solar string light is brightest?

Govee H3001 has the highest documented per-bulb output at up to 50 lm. Its 13-hour runtime claim uses 10 lm, so full-brightness runtime is not established by that figure.

How much sun does a solar string-light panel need?

The locked records specify direct sun for Govee and Hoselink, and Feit recommends at least 6 hours of direct sun. Other products have their own instructions. Put the panel in the best usable daylight available and keep its claim tied to its model.

Which solar string light has the longest cable?

BioLite has a documented 44-ft braided cord with 20 bulbs. Brightech and Hoselink cover 27 and 26 ft, while Feit covers 20 ft.

Are IPX4 solar string lights suitable for a garden?

BioLite’s record lists IPX4, which is the product’s documented resistance rating. It does not establish the same weather position as an IP65 or IP67 product. Follow the current product instructions and choose based on the actual mounting location.

Recommendation

Choose Govee H3001 when you want the strongest documented output and a clear low-brightness runtime condition. Feit suits a short installation, Hoselink gives the most complete warm white bulb specification, and BioLite is the long-run option with USB-C backup charging. Brightech earns a place when S14 or filament style matters more than a lumen or runtime number.

Sources and methodology

She Gardens used the locked solar-light shortlist and source registry researched on 29 August 2026. Product facts came from Govee, Feit SL20, Hoselink, Brightech Ambience Pro, Brightech Glow, Brightech hanging, and BioLite. Category context came from Consumer Reports. She Gardens did not test brightness, runtime, weather resistance, or installation.

Mara Ellison

Garden gear editor, She Gardens

Mara Ellison is the garden gear editor behind She Gardens. She researches product specifications, checks manufacturer documentation, and edits each guide around a specific garden job. This guide does not claim hands-on testing.